Reviews

Read comments written by guests who have taken our tours!

“That was the highlight of our 5 week trip Indonesia”

Nachdem wir verspätet in Pangkalan Bun gelandet sind, wurden wir direkt von unserem Guide Budi herzlich empfangen. Anschließend wurden wir zu unserem Klotok in Kumai gebracht. Alles ging reibungslos, was auch sehr gut war, weil wir durch die lange Anreise sehr müde waren. Die Köchin, der Kapitän und der Schiffsjunge haben uns auf dem Klotok herzlichst begrüßt. Mein Partner und ich haben uns sofort auf dem Klotok wohl gefühlt, richtig heimisch. Wir haben die 3Nächte/4Tages Variante gewählt, und es hat sich nichts wiederholt. Jeder Tag war wunderschön und dank unseres Guides auch sehr wechselhaft.

Die Geräuschkulisse des Dschungels war atemberaubend schön. Wir haben so viele verschiedene Tiere gesehen: Nasenaffen, Gibbons, Krokodile, Echsen, Makaken, verschiedene bunte Paradiesvögel usw. und selbstverständlich Orangutans. Nicht nur an der Fütterungsstation sind wir auf sie gestoßen, sondern auch tief im Dschungel und auch mal direkt am Flussufer. Ein schöner unvergesslicher Moment war als Budi und wir im Dschungel trekken waren und er plötzlich Orangutans riechen konnte, und tatsächlich, keine 10 Meter weiter, stießen wir auf ein Orangutan-Weibchen mit Nachwuchs, sie stand nur ca. 5 Meter entfernt von uns, das Baby auf dem Arm. Solche Momente haben sich an anderen Stellen wiederholt. Mein Partner und ich konnten diese wilden Orangutans jedes mal für uns alleine genießen, es war weit und breit kein weiterer Tourist anwesend.

Leider sind die Fütterungsstationen an der Hochsaison stark mit Touristen überfüllt, die sich auch noch unmöglich benommen haben, Fotos mit Blitzlicht, lautes Gelächter/Gerede usw. (das sollte vermieden werden, damit die Orangutans nicht gestört werden)
Unser Guide Budi war stets um uns bemüht, er hat für uns aus Blätter Fächer gebastelt, hat mit uns zusätlich noch eine Trekkingtour durch den Dschungel organisiert, das nicht aufm Plan stand, hat uns an einsame Stellen gebracht für die Nacht. Wir nächtigten einmal direkt neben einem Schwarm Glühwürmchen und konnten somit nicht nur den großartigen Sternenhimmel bestaunen, sondern auch noch die kleinen Glühwürmchen direkt an unserem Boot bewundern.

Verzichtet auf keinen Fall auf die Nacht-Wanderung, auch da sieht und hört man so einiges. Verschiedene Spinnenarten, darunter Taranteln und sogar den “Flying Lemur” (Riesengleiter) haben wir zu Gesicht bekommen.

Das Essen war sehr üppig und lecker, wir mussten nie hungern, hatten extra noch Snacks zuvor gekauft für den Fall, dass wir unterzuckern, diese aber nie angerührt. Die Matratze auf der wir geschlafen haben, war sehr bequem und sauber. Geduscht wird mit dem Flusswasser, dieser wird aber zuvor gefiltert, es wurde immer darauf geachtet, dass wir genügend Wasser hatten zum Waschen und co.

Am Ende unserer Tour hat Budi uns zu einer Vorschule gebracht, überall fröhliche lachende Kinder. Ein schöner unvergesslicher Moment. Dort konnten wir auch überall die berüchtigten Palmölplantagen sehen. Man mekt jedoch richtig, wie die Einheimischen durch die Palmölplantagen an Wohlstand gewinnen, man möge es ihnen nicht verdenken. Leider geschieht Wohlstand immer auf Kosten der Natur.

Im Dschungel verbergen sich viele verschiedene Tierarten, darunter auch welche, die vom Aussterben bedroht sind. Nebden dem Orangutan zum Beispiel auch Plumploris. Leider halten EInheimische solche bedrohten Tiere als Haustiere, was sehr erschreckend ist und nicht sein darf.

Ich empfehle jedem diese Tour. Mein Freund ich reisen schon oft nach Asien, waren auch schon in anderen Regenwälder, aber Borneo hat uns richtig geflasht. Es ist ein Muss für jeden Dschungelliebhaber :)

English translation via Google Translate:

After we landed late in Pangkalan Bun, we were greeted warmly by our guide directly Budi. Then we were taken to our Klotok in Kumai. Everything went smoothly, which was also very good, because we were very tired by the long journey. The cook, the captain and the ship’s boy who greeted us on the Klotok sincerely. My partner and I have immediately felt at home on the Klotok, right at home. We have chosen the 3Nights / 4Tages variant, and it has nothing repeated. Every day was gorgeous and thanks to our Guides also very changeable.

The soundscape of the jungle was breathtakingly beautiful. We saw so many different animals: proboscis monkeys, gibbons, crocodiles, lizards, macaques, different colorful birds of paradise, etc. and of course orangutans. Not only at the feeding station we came across it, but also deep in the jungle and sometimes right on the riverfront. A beautiful unforgettable moment was when Budi and we were trekking in the jungle, and he could smell Orangutans suddenly, and in fact, no 10 meters further, we came across a Orangutan females with young, she was just 5 meters away from us, the baby in her arms. Such moments have been repeated elsewhere.

My partner and I were able to enjoy these wild orangutans every time to ourselves, it was far and wide no other tourist present. Unfortunately, the feeding stations in the high season are heavily crowded with tourists who also behaved impossible to take pictures with flash, loud laughter / chatter, etc. (which should be avoided so that the orangutans are not disturbed) Our guide Budi was always around us endeavor he has tinkered compartments for us from leaves, has zusätlich even organized us a trek through the jungle, which was not open plan, has brought us to secluded places for the night. We once spent the night next to a swarm of fireflies and were thus able to admire not only the magnificent starry sky, but also admire the small fireflies directly to our boat. Waived under any circumstances on the night walk, even as see and hear a lot. Different species of spiders, including tarantulas, and even the “Flying Lemur” (giant slide), we got to face.

The food was very rich and tasty, we never had to go hungry, still had extra snacks previously purchased for the event that we sugars, but they never touched. The mattress we slept on was very comfortable and clean. Showered with the river water, but this is previously filtered, it was always made sure that we had enough water for washing and co. At the end of our tour Budi has brought us to a preschool, anywhere cheerful laughing children. A beautiful unforgettable moment. There we could see the notorious palm oil plantations everywhere. However, it Mekt properly as winning the locals by the oil palm plantations of wealth, one may not blame them. Unfortunately prosperity happens always at the expense of nature. In the jungle, many different animal species, including some that are threatened with extinction hide. Nebden the Orangutan, for example, slow lorises. Unfortunately keep locals such endangered animals as pets, which is very frightening and must not be. I recommend everyone this tour.

My friend I travel often to Asia, have gone to other rainforests, but Borneo has flashed us properly. It is a must for any jungle lovers :)

TripAdvisor review, September 2015

……………………………………………..

We are back from our Indonesia trip and the borneo tour was the best part of the journey! Very beautiful nature and great people. Our guide and the rest of the Klotok Team were awesome. Thank you for this great tour!

Email feedback from A and B, August 2015

………………………………………………

An article in the Time Out magazine mentioning us!

http://www.timeout.com/kuala-lumpur/travel/the-best-of-indonesia

Written by Gabby Jaffe

……………………………………………………………..

Just wanted to let you know that I had a WONDERFUL time on the Wild Orangutan tour!   Thank you so much for working it all out for me and giving advice on flights and the hotel in town.  Everything worked perfectly.   It was hot, but I won’t hold that against you.   My guide was great as were the others on the boat.

I really enjoyed it.  Thank you so much.

Cheers, B. C.

Email Feedback June 2015

…………………………………………………………..

“Wonderful Experience!”

I went on the two night trip on the klotok. I loved it. I was traveling alone and kept thinking this is too special…… I should have brought someone with me! The guide was terrific, the cook fixed wonderful meals, the boat master and assistant were friendly and helpful. But the Orangutans were the best! WOW.
(don’t forget extra batteries for your camera!)

TripAdvisor review, by EC June 2015

………………………………………………..

 

What an amazing experience!!”

Myself, my Husband and 2 children along with my Sister-In-Law were recently lucky enough to travel to Borneo at the end of March and do a 3 night river tour organised by the lovely Hannah. We had a lot of communication with Hannah during the many months beforehand as 3 of our family have Coeliac Disease and therefore we have to be very careful with the food that they eat. Hannah was very understanding and ensured that the cook was aware of what was required and not surprisingly there were no issues and we all really enjoyed the food.

Husini our guide was fantastic, he had a great sense of humour and really went out of his way to ensure that we saw as much wildlife and insects etc that we could, especially the things that we really wanted to see including tarantulas which was a real highlight during our night trek! All of the staff on the boat were great including Ohan the captain, and they were all fantastic with the children. We didn’t see orang-utans at all of the feeding stations due to the time of year (saw them twice in total) but it meant that there were less boats on the river because of low season which really made up for it .

At one of the feeding stations (Camp Leakey I think) we did see a gibbon which was a great experience and made it well worth going despite not seeing the orang-utans there. The boat was basic but had all of the necessities, and it was a lovely experience going to sleep and waking up with all of the jungle noises. We highly recommend this trip, it is extremely well planned but you also feel like you can change the itinerary to suit your interests at the time. It was the perfect start to our 3 week trip in Indonesia.

TripAdvisor review, May 2015

……………………………………………………..

Inolvidable experiencia 100% recomendada”

Desde el primer email estuvieron 100% comprometidos en darnos información clara y precisa. La comunicación fue excelente y rápida. Y cuando llegamos a Pangkalan Bun todo esta perfectamente coordinado para que pudiéramos disfrutar nuestro One Day Trip en speedboat. El guía súper amable, con un nivel aceptable de inglés, el conductor del speedboat muy prudente haciendo seguro el viaje. Y los orangutanes… que decir… FUE FANTASTICO!!!!…Recomendadísimo!!!!..

English translation via Google Translate:

From the first email they were 100% committed to give clear and accurate information. Communication was excellent and quick. And when we arrived at Pangkalan Bun everything is perfectly coordinated so that we could enjoy our One Day Trip by speedboat. The super friendly guide, with an acceptable level of English, the speedboat driver doing very prudent travel insurance. And orangutans … to say … it was fantastic !!!! … recomendadísimo !!!! ..

TripAdvisor review by MoniLago, April 2015

…………………………………………………………

“Awesome, Amazing, Delightful!”

The Klotok was very basic but so much fun and the guide, crew and cook made the journey fun, the food was delicious, and our guide very knowledgeable. We sore Orangutans, Macaque, Proboscis and even a Gibbon. Our guide organized a night tour into the jungle to search for Tarantulas, and we found them too. It was an experience I will never forget and one I am so glad I did. We meet so many lovely people and had the adventure of a life time. I highly recommend this trip and company.

TripAdvisor review by Zipsterval, March 2015

………………………………………………………..

“Amazing experience in the jungle!”

Four of us traveled to Borneo in February during the rainy season. It turned out that the rain fell only occasionally and didn’t prevent us from doing anything. Seeing the orangutans in the forest was simply amazing — we went to several feeding stations and thoroughly enjoyed the different personalities we observed. We also saw two orangutans in the wild, which was most exciting! Everything about this trip was first rate — Hannah was so responsive and helpful, we were picked up promptly at the airport, the klotok was comfortable, the river magical.


Some warning for those who might be considering this trip — it is absolutely not luxurious, more like camping, so do not expect warm showers and fine cuisine. If you get bored after seeing a few orangutans, just go for the day, not for the four day trip we took. We had no problems understanding the guide , whom we liked immensely but Borneo is a third-world country where the schools sometimes provide less than good language instruction, so the accents can be thick. But what makes up for everything is the guide’s knowledge, amazing eyes that saw things in the forests we could never have found, and the warmth and friendliness of everyone we encountered on the trip.

TripAdvisor review, February 2015

…………………………………………………….

“Experience of  a Lifetime!”

From the moment we got off the plane this trip was something special. Our guide Alvin was amazing. He treated us so well, taught us so much, was patient and caring. Our captain was sweet and even came out walking with us and our cook was amazing…the food so good.
The experience of going through the jungle waters on a boat was so serene and breathtaking.
Our first night we were greeted by the most amazing light show by the surrounding fireflies. The beauty was breathtaking. Then the next few days of seeing amazing orangutans, proboscis monkeys, crocodiles and other creatures was unreal. I felt like I must have been in a movie.
I highly recommend this trip before the orangutans and other animals disappear from the jungles. They are amazing and I could sit and watch them for hours.
What a treat!

TripAdvisor review, October 2014

…………………………………………………..

I wanted to thank you for organising our wonderful tour in Kalimantan and to give you a bit of feedback.

Everything went very well: our guide, Dedi was marvellous – friendly, fun and very informative – and the crew were great too. The food was excellent and the boat was comfortable, despite its simplicity.

We very much enjoyed seeing the orangutans at the feeding stations (though once at each is enough) and walking in the jungle. Dedi showed us a lot of plants and creatures that we would not have spotted ourselves. He also talked to us about local culture and customs and contemporary issues. It really was a pleasure to talk with him.

As you may know, we changed our plans a bit at the end of our stay. On Day 4, having visited the turtle sanctuary,released four little turtles into the sea and walked a little along the beach, we decided that we would rather return to Pangkalan Bun to explore the town and local area, as there was nothing more we particularly wanted to do on the river or beach. Please do not think that we were in any way dissatisfied with the tour or the crew. Dedi helped us find a hotel for that night, and the following morning he showed us around, took us to his village and found a restaurant by the river at lunchtime (not easy during Ramadan). After lunch, we went on a narrow motorboat back up to the town; it was fun and really interesting to see the houses along the riverside. Obviously, Dedi was in no way obliged to do all this for us, as we had decided to leave the klotok early, but he really takes pride in his job and wanted to show us his area. He even came back the final morning to drive us to the airport and ordered us some delicious soup from the airport café. He was great with the children too and we were sad to say goodbye. I would really like to recommend him as a guide.

I would be more than happy to fill in a satisfaction survey if you have one.

Feedback via email from guest in July 2014.

…………………………………………………….

It is nearly a year since we took our trip with your company to Kalimantan, and again I would like to thank you and Sabrie and the crew of our klotok for what I can only describe as our trip of a lifetime. I still look at our photos of the orang-utans in the wild and it still brings a tear to my eyes , but also the hospitality of Sabrie , we were humbled when he invited us back to his house to meet your Bornean family. I now contribute to the orangutan foundation and hope that these incredible animals have a future, it was good to read that the rimba raya project is under  way and that people can view these animals for for generations to come.

D put on Trip advisor how great our time was and how brilliant your company is but words cannot truly describe our time so once again I say thank you.

T.

Email feedback, July 2014

…………………………………………….

Just thought we should let you know how pleased we were with Marwadi (I’m not sure if I spelled that right sorry?). He was really good with the kids, and really made the time on the boat great. The rest of the crew were also good.

Thanks again for all your help.

Regards.

P. C.

Email feedback, July 2014

…………………………………………………………

“An Amazing Tour – A Must Do!”

This is a great way to explore the park and see the orangutans in comfort and with some adventure if you wish..

Arranging the tour was made simple through email with Hannah. The guide and crew were polite, attentive and friendly. Pick up at the airport, transport to the boat and return to hotel after the tour was went smoothly. The food onboard was excellent and plentiful.

I recommend this tour and this tour company to everyone. Bring lots of sunblock, insect repellent, a hat, a good pair of shoes for the walks and a camera (with extra batteries charged).

TripAdvisor review by RKumara, July 2014

……………………………………………………….

“Magical Jungle Trip!”

The 3 days , 2 nights trip we made on the boat in Tanjung Puting was very well organised. Starting from the first contacts with Hannah in the UK, untill the contacts with the crew on the boat, everything was handled in the most caring and friendly way.

Nina, our guide, who was a lovely and very intesting girl, first took us to see some interesting local dayak places, we drove to the boat to meat the rest of the team. We were made to feel welcome from the first moment. Comfort on our boat was very good, ofcourse you should not expect 5 star accomodation. A western toilet with mandi bucket to flush, a sort of shower with fresh water, enough to refresh yourself, it gets realy hot. Nets to sleep under are provided, completly intact which is not always the case, beds are quite comfortable and the view with stars and fireflies is the best.

The views on the boat were magnificent, we took a few books to read but didn’t get to read anything, there was always something to see or do. Monkey’s in the trees, a small crocodile, Nina explaining about local plants and culture, our son steering the boat with captain Jonathan, the nicest man you can imagine, the children making local mats of leafs with Nina and Jonathan. And for the rest of the time just sit back, relax and enjoy the never boring views.

The food, made by Uju, who was very nice, was very good and more than enough. Water was always provided. Even a coke after walking to the feeding platforms. The walks by the way are not long or hard, only that it is so hot and humid that you have to be sure to drink enough and that you don’t stay on the boat too long when it is not moving, it gets very hot there. That is the only thing that was sometimes hard on this trip, the humidity and heat. When the boat is moving, it’s just fine , but when it stops, it gets realy hot.

And ofcourse we saw orangutans. That is initially why we went on this trip and seeing them was great, but the whole experience is much more than that.

We made our trip with our two children of 9 and 11 who loved it. They loved the trip and were very fonned of the crew. They always cared for us, were always friendly and concerned for our wellbeing.

Hard to believe that an adventurous trip to the jungle is organised so well but it was.

Thank you Hannah, Nina, Uju, Jonathan and lets not forget Faisel, the captain’s help, for making it a perfect trip.

TripAdvisor review by Mieke299, July 2014

………………………………………….

“Thank you from J and D”

We want to thank you and your team for such a wonderful trip this weekend.
Sabrie was brilliant and along with all of the boat crew, he made our experience an unforgettable one.
We were looked after from start to finish. The stops at the feeding stations, the boat journey and the food on board were excellent. If you want me to provide a review anywhere I will gladly do so, just let me know.
Thanks again
J & D

Email feedback, June 2014

………………………………………………………..

“Amazing Experience”

We also took the 3 days 2 nights trip on the klotok through hannah. At first, the delay to get an answer to our questions by emails was long. But when we arrived in pangkalan bun (small airport) through trigana air (old plane but ok and on time), everything went smoothly. Our guide was at the airport to great us and take care of the taxi. We arrived on the klotok and meet our crew (4 people taking care of the 2 of us!). We ate lunch right away and we confirmed that the food was amazing, varied and adapted to our tourist sensible digestion. You will have too much food at each meal. The first day, we stopped at 2 feeding stations and came in really up close and personal with orangutans. I mean “watch out behind you and move out of the way” up close. Quite an experience. We slept in a quiet place along the river. The mattress was a bit thin for our backs but it was like camping outside under a mosquito net. It was a light sleep for us but the sound of the jungle (monkey fights and screams) made it exotic like we expected. It took us a few minutes to understand how the toilet was working too! The second day we made our way to camp leakey which is quite different for the other feeding stations we saw. It is quite big, with many monkeys and people (it was school day so tons of teens not so interested in the monkeys!). We really prefered our experience at the other stations since we were lucky enough to see orangutans there. The guide is really important in this experience. Ours was really competent and answered every questions we had but we saw many guides more interested in having a smoke and watching the girls.

Our second night was not as good as the first. We parked with many other klotoks on the spot for the night trek. So we heard the other crews watch tv instead of hearing the jungle. We should have asked to park in a quieter spot. The night trek was not really worth it for us. Not much to see and too long for nothing.

3rd day our crew made us stop in a village where we were invited to buy a souvenir. 15$ for a wood monkey is really too much but some money is supposed to go to the foundation taking care of the park.

In the end, it really was an amazing experience for the orangutans of course but also for the pleasure of the slow life on the simple boat. We recommand it but be ready for a bit of a camping with amazing food.

TripAdvisor review by Sebval, June 2014

……………………………………………………………………………

“Just Great, DO IT!”

This trip was just amazing. We did the 3 days/2 nights tour. For us this was enough. Seeing the Orang Utans up-close is something really special. We LOVED our guide Bian. We’d like to recommend him highly! The food, the klotok, the jungle. It was just perfect.

TripAdvisor review by Marieke V, June 2014

……………………………………………………………….

“Extraordinary Experience!”

Sabrie and his crew (captain, second captain and the Cook) took really
good care of us. Everything we needed was on board, including a thick mattress. The cook was outstanding!!! Three times a day he prepared an extensive meal for us. In between the meals we got snacks and throughout the day coffee, tea, water and coke.

We booked the four days, three nights, tour. We enjoyed the river trip with the most beautifull views. Especially the stars and the fireflies at night. We loved to see the orang utans, especially the young ones. In camp leakey they come very close!

The third day we went by boat to tanjung keluang to release baby turtles. Except this and swimming, there was not so much to see and to do. It’s a small beach without facilities and with a lot of rubbish. We had to stay here from 9 am till dinner. The fourth day of our tour included visiting kubu beach, which is right across tanjung keluang and is the same kind of beach. Therefore we decided to ask Sabrie to end our tour after dinner on the third day.
We advice other visitors to stick with visiting tanjung puting national park.

We had an amazing trip and recommend wild orang utan tours.

TripAdvisor review by Bloempje1983, June 2014.

…………………………………………………………….

“A trip you’ll never forget!”

We recently did the 3day 2 night trip and it was fantastic from start to finish.

Our klotok arrived on time (rare in asia), and we were immediately impressed with our guides (Arry) English. His knowledge and general great service and friendly personality would continue to impress us throughout the trip.

To be fair, the other staff on the boat were also great, the chef cooked fantastic food, another guy called arry was there at every opportunity to help my 68yr old mother on and off the boat, and was especially helpful during a fairly treacherous 4 mile walk through camp leakey.

Seeing the orangutans is a specialist memory that you will always remember. You get closer than you could imagine and will definitely get some great photos.

Sleeping on the klotok is fine. A decent mosquito net keeps all the bugs away. You tend to go to sleep when it gets dark as light is only available when the generator is on, and wake as the sun rises. We stayed one night at rimba lodge too. I’d have to say I’d rather stay on the klotok than keep having to travel back and forth.

I really can’t recommend this your enough.
Booking the tour through hannah was also very easy. Questions were answered quickly and information provided was spot on.

TripAdvisor review by James W, May 2014

………………………………………………….

“Great 3 days klotok!”

My husband’s dream to see orangutan came true… thanks to Hannah and all crew (especially Nina our lovely guide).
We decided to stay on Klotok for the whole journey because it was such an amazing experience seeing morning activities of the wild!!! :-)
We saw Rimba Lodge on the way but staying in klotok is more private & less mozzies. Wet wipes is all the shower we need hahaha…

Each day of the tour starts with good breakfast (lunch on first day as we arrived before noon)… And the great food continues on until the end of the trip! This includes afternoon snacks and endless supply of fresh (and chilled) bottled water (we used for brushing teeth too). Prompt services is like 5 satr hotel quality, thumbs up for all crew (chef & captains).

Of course, the higlight of the trip is seeing the orangutans. We saw a couple of them at the feeding station in camp 1, very cute and hairy indeed :-)
We came during the rainy season and we had 2 days of rain (heavy but for short time). First day was just cloudy so it wasnt too hot AND humid. Second day, started with heavy rain and we couldnt see any orangutans in camp 2, orangutans dont like getting wet! But later that afternoon, we saw many of them at Camp Leakey. From the entrance bridge, on the way to and from feeding station, it was surreal!!!
Apparently, Tom the king hadnt turned up to the feeding station for the past couple of months, and that day was his first day coming back!! We were lucky because they dont stay there for long. Also… While waiting for these slow moving apes, there are other cheeky monkeys around. You’ll also notice that most of them at this camp are used to humans and they will def pose for you (enough time for loooaaaddsss of snaps)! Funny.

On our last day, on the way back to Kumai, we spotted abt 11 WILD orangutans, thanks to the beautiful morning! They were shy thou… The minute they heard the klotok sound, the started to swing and hide (slowly enough). Lookout for the different types of monkeys too… esp the big nosed monkeys, they’re usually out and abt very early by the river – good to spot from your klotok! You’d hear different bird sounds all around you, binoculars would be exceptionally useful but some are quite visible :-)

ALL IN ALL, thanks to people’s reviews on tripadvisor!!! We had a blast, it was the highlight of our 8 month long trip! Thanks Hannah for organising an amazing crew in such a short notice.
My suggestion is, if you have the time and money, this trip is def worth it!!!

TripAdvisor review, written by 14y_low, April 2014

……………………………………………………..

“Fantastic Experience!”

The sightings of the orangutans were amazing. The klotok was a great experience. We spent an extra 3 days in pangkalanbun which I would not do again. Fly in do the trip and fly out again as pangkalabun doesn’t have a lot to offer. We had flights booked with kalstar and they were all cancelled! Causing delays. Trigana air are more reliable I believe but most people book locally as they have an office at jakarta airport.

TripAdvisor review, written by j_white12, March 2014

………………………………………………………….

“Unique experience”

We went on this tour for three days and two nights. The minute the boat left the dock in Kumai, we knew we were in for a special experience. The crew, from our guides Mawardi and Maita to our cook Dolea and crew Sansul and Ujang were amazing.

The “stations” where we stopped to watch the ourangoutangs were fantastic. The animals could be close enough to touch (but not recommended!). We saw not only orangoutangs but other species of primates and wild boar.

The food on the boat was the best we had in Indonesia bar none. Our 3 daughters not only survived 72 hours without internet; they loved this trip.

This tour is worth every penny and I highly recommend it.

Trip Advisor review, written by Pierre Charles D, who visited in January 2014

…………………………………….

“Must do experience!”

This trip was a must for us and thankfully it was arranged with Hannah through Wild orang-utan Tours. Cannot recommend them highly enough; all our questions and preparations were handled professionally and knowledgeably.

It is a pither to book the Pangkalan Bun flights especially as everything else is booked then having to wait until schedules are issued, so yes a little disconcerting, but everything came together and all went smoothly.

We opted to have three nights on the boat and two nights at Rimba Lodge (see separate review). It was an amazing adventure, visiting Camp Leakey and feeding stations where we saw orang-utans up close and personal. We were also lucky enough to see the odd wild orang-utan within the forest from the boat. This was a busy time (end July/beginning August) and despite a lot of people wanting to be in the same place at the same time, it wasn’t a circus, and anyway we felt common sense to not have the world and his wife wandering around wherever. Leave that to the loggers and palm oil producers…..

Have to say we were disappointed with the Camp visit, as our expectation was for it to be a ‘working’ unit and we would see rehabilitation in progress. Don’t know why we had this in our minds but we just saw a hut with some history and pictures and the resident female and offspring (a delight!). Guess all donations are given in trust that all monies are used for preservation of the orange chaps.

We had ‘upgraded’ so as to have a shower and western toilet but, don’t tell anyone, we didn’t bother with the shower! We took plenty of wipes and had no trouble with mosquitoes, despite it still being very humid. Too hot to wear our head nets!

The boat trip was very relaxing and food good and plentiful. We had pre-arranged with Hannah for plenty of Bintang to be available which went down very well (and with the captain!) in the evenings whilst discussing our daytime adventures. The nights were also an adventure and lots of laughs had crawling under the nets. We were two couples and had four mattresses and two ‘tents’. The canvas was dropped to the side at night but we could still hear the rustlings and see the fireflies – both spooky and awesome. All together a fantastic experience and we cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Unfortunately cannot remember names now (we’ve moved house with lots going on, hence late review). You will not go wrong with this company, thank you Hannah.

TriAdvisor review, written by Sharon and Joe, who visited in August 2013

……………………………………………

“Well organised adventure”

We did a 3 day – 2 night tour with our 17 year old daughter and had a wonderful time! Right from the start, everything was very well organized and smoothly run. Our guide Nina met us at the airport and quickly took us through the local registration process and right onto the boat. We met our captain, first mate and cook and off we went, quickly reaching the river estuary and entering the peacefully quiet passage into the jungle. As others have mentioned, the food was fabulous and abundant and the bottled water was always available. The whole atmosphere on the boat was like luxury camping and we were encouraged to just relax and enjoy the ride – which we did! Along the sides we saw many long-tailed macaques and proboscus monkeys as well as a couple of crocodiles (no swimming!). But of course the highlight was seeing the orangutans – a few along the side of the river and about 30 among the three feeding stations that we visited. The boat docks and we walked into the forest about 1km to the platform, the bananas were dumped on top, and then we wait – as the guides make hooting callsto draw the apes! Soon, you could see far away trees start to sway as the orangutans made their way towards us and they would come from all directions and even pass right through the clearing to get to their fruit! It was fantastic and very much an “in the wild” experience.
I think the 3D/2N time frame was perfect and wouldn’t really recommend doing any longer. If you are not big on the camping lifestyle, even one night would be good. We did have heavy ran for both nights, but the crew quickly put out the awning tarps and we stayed perfectly dry the whole time. Having the mattresses under the mosquito netting also provided great protection – however, we were taking prophylactic malarial medication just in case.
Our guide Nina was very knowledgeable about the area, the local peoples and also the flora and fauna and she spoke English very well. We enjoyed just chatting with her on the boat as we cruised the river.
Hannah was great to work with via email – she was quick to respond and easily accomodated food preferences and schedule changes. She also communicated all our info to our guide.

TripAdvisor review, written by NBrown, who visited in November 2013

………………………………………………….

“Extraordinary Experience!”

Our trip with Wild Orangutan Tours in late September was truly amazing. The river trip, Camp Leaky, and the incredible opportunities to view orangutans and other creatures was an unforgettable experience.

What made this trip stand out as one of the best adventures ever, was the wonderful crew, starting with our guide Sabrie. As a former employee of Camp Leaky, his knowledge of orangutans, and the surrounding jungle, are impressive.

Sabrie seemed to know all of the rehabilitated orangutans by name and personality. And his knowledge of other flora and fauna was no less impressive. He led us on a night trek into the jungle… tarantulas galore, a large scorpion, a monster millipede, and a deadly hairy caterpillar were highlights.

Our assistant guide, Mr. Inas, was also very knowledgeable about the orangutans and the surrounding forest. He, too, is a former employee of Camp Leaky, and knows the forest and its inhabitants like the back of his hand.

Norja, the cook, worked in a tiny kitchen below deck to prepare three lovely meals a day– there was more food than we could eat, with good variety. Boat Captain Basis and Assistant Captain Nordin were also friendly, helpful and hospitable… Captain Basis kept us laughing whenever we were docked.

We would also be remiss, if we did not mention Hannah, whose advise and assistance before our trip was excellent.

My husband and I have travelled and worked extensively throughout Asia, and this trip counts as one of our best experiences ever. We highly recommend Wild Orangutan tours.

TripAdvisor Review, written by CGNToronto, who visited in September 2013

………………………………………………..

“Wild Orangutan Tours, Kalimantan Borneo”

We did a 4 day 3 night tour withWild Orangutan Tours that was excellent. The booking (we, 2 girls from Australia shared a Klotok with an American Guy we met through Trip Advisor) was handled very professionally and the guide (Mike) was amazing, completely in touch with Nature and a great photographer also. Would highly recommend the tour and also ask for Mike if you can get him as he really cares about the environment and the Orangutans. The food was also very good..We were picked up from our hotel and dropped back after the trip…highly Recommend

Trip Advisor review, written by Marion, who visited in October 2013

………………………………………………..

“The best trip Ever!”

We travelled to Borneo with Wild Orangutan Tours having booked over a year in advance! Like everyone else you feel a little scary having only dealt with Hannah over the net or occasionally over the telephone. We were delighted to say the least when we arrived at Pangkalan Bun airport to be met by the wonderful Mr Sabrie. He took us on our short taxi ride to Kumai where we boarded the klotok (boat). Our wonderful, once in a lifetime, trip started here.

We met the brilliant crew who took great care of us for the following 5 days, 4 nights. We were extremely well fed by Miss Nia who managed to cook the most amazing meals and snacks for us. Our drinks (coke and water) were always chilled and the beer we pre ordered was always kept cold. Although we didn’t have any washing facilities on board this didn’t hamper our experience – a packet of wet wipes, a can of deodorant and we were sorted! We were most blessed when on our first day we saw Tom the big daddy orang-utan. We were so lucky to see many orang-utan, long tailed monkeys and probiscus monkeys to name but a few. On our third day we went to a turtle conservation site and although in its very early stages was again a great experience especially given the fact that they allowed us to use their fresh water well to shower and wash our hair!!!!

All I can say is well done to Hannah for organising these trips and most importantly we would like to say an enormous thank you to Mr Sabrie for looking after us beyond the call of duty. Our invitation to his home was very humbling and we were honoured to be asked. If I had one disappointment about our trip it was that we chose to stay at the Rimba Lodge on our second night- big mistake HUGE not the greatest experience and we wish we had chosen to stay aboard the klotok for that extra night. Don’t think about booking with Wild Orangutan Tours – DO IT Theyre brilliant!

TripAdvisor review, written by Sayitasitis, who visited in July 2013

………………………………………………..

“Great tour, lots of people”

My girlfriend and I did a three night klotok tour with Wild Orangutan Tours (WOT) in July 2013, and we had an excellent time. Initially, we were a little nervous booking with WOT over email communications, but our trust in them paid off, as they were incredibly professional and helpful and delivered the tour exactly as they said in the email communications before we left.

Our guide along the trip, Ba’in, was an awesome nature-spotter, and demonstrated an excellent knowledge of the area. He spoke reasonably good English, but most of all we were very impressed with reverence and respect for all living things we encountered (even the fire ants and leeches!). His love of the local nature was always apparent and a joy to experience.

The other boat crew’s captain and helper were also very attentive to our needs and very good-natured (at times even serenading us with what they knew of Hotel California). The female cook delivered absolutely delicious and abundant meals for us, despite the fact that we were on a boat in the jungle, and she was observing Ramadan.

In addition to many orangutans, we were able to see proboscis monkeys, gibbons, macaques, a tarantula (during our night walk in the jungle, which was sort of creepy), eagles, and too many other insects and birds to list. I would consider the wildlife viewing opportunity excellent, and I enjoyed seeing the many other plants, animals, and even the insects, as much as I enjoyed seeing the orangutans. Bring a good camera!

The only small issue we encountered was the volume of boats and other tourists. Unfortunately, we had to go in high-season which meant that the feeding stations (especially Camp Leaky) usually had 30-40 other tourists observing the orangutans at feeding time. I’m sure this could be easily avoided by booking outside of July and August.

Also, other tourists should expect that the vast majority of the orangutans were at the feeding stations, which made the trip feel more like visiting a zoo than experiencing a truly wild jungle adventure. This is likely not an issue for most tourists (us included) who gladly sacrifice “wildness” for the creature comforts that WOT offers and the sheer abundance of orangutans that the controlled environment of Tanjung Puting.

Review on TripAdvisor, written by Steven G, who travelled in July 2013 (high season, busiest time of year)

…………………………………………………..

“The adventure of a lifetime!”

I have dreamed of visiting Borneo since I was a little girl and nothing could have made my experience any more perfect!

Hannah was extremely helpful with providing me with information and assistance while planning the trip and I was lucky enough to find someone to share a klotok with me. Our guide, Mawardi, met us in Pangkalang Bun and was an absolutely wonderful travel companion. Not only was he an endless source of information, but his attentiveness and sense of humour really made my experience special. I really got the feeling that he was constantly trying his utmost to ensure that we got to see as much as possible and his informed decisions ensured that we often missed the crowds and got to have some extremely special encounters with the orangutans.

The food, prepared by Tuti, was unbelievably delicious and I even got a cooking lesson on route! I highly recomm

Review on TripAdvisor, written by Shelley, who travelled in August 2013.

………………………………………..

“Amazing!”

From start to finish everything went smoothly. We went on a three day two night trip and had a fantastic time.

We’d booked a small boat for the two of us but found we’d been upgraded to a larger boat when we got there. We were glad we’d checked out the pictures of the boat before booking so were under no illusions over the facilities, however, although basic it was manageable and better than we expected.

We slept well at night on the deck under the mosquito nets and enjoyed waking up to the sounds of nature. On the first night there was a group of Proboscis monkeys in the trees above where we had moored up to sleep and the sounds they made were amazing.

The guide and three crew members were all very friendly and wanted to make our experience one we would remember. Special mention must go to the cook who managed to serve up the most delicious meals including vegetarians dishes, and also the young lad who seemed to be doing the most work.

We saw a lot more Orangutans than we expected to see – not only at the feeding stations but also on the walkways and, when we least expected it, strolling out of the jungle towards us – passing only a few feet away from where we were standing. We also saw lots making their way to the platforms by swinging through the trees above our heads. Just remember never to stand under a tree where an Orangutan is, otherwise you may get a drenching (or worse)!!!

We went in May and it wasn’t too busy with other boats, there was probably a maximum of twenty people at the feeding stations, so there was plenty of photo opportunities as well as plenty of time just to sit and observe. No one rushed us at all (not sure if that was because there wasn’t a lot of people there), but we had as much time as we wanted at each station.

Overall the weather was hot and sunny – but very humid, remember to take plenty of water with you when you leave the boat to go the feeding stations – you’ll definitely need it. We had a heavy rainstorm as we got to one of the camps before the feeding station but were fortunate enough to see a large Orangutan in a tree pulling the branches over his head to make an umbrella (of sorts).

We also saw some dolphins as we crossed the big river at the start of the tour and over the three days we saw several hornbills and kingfishes along the riverside. We were also lucky enough to see a Gibbon near one of the stations and we sailed passed lots of Proboscis monkeys. We also met Tom (the alpha male) at Camp Leaky.

We would like to thank everyone who had some part in our adventure and would certainly recommend booking with Wild Orangutan Tours – it was a holiday we’ll never forget and if you get the chance then don’t think twice about it – its amazing.

Review on TripAdvisor, by AJPatt, who visited in May 2013

…………………………………………………………..

“Amazing Orangutan Experience!

After reading Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to book a 3 Day/2 night tour with Wild Orangutan Tours and we are so glad we did! It exceeded our expectations and we can tick it off our bucket list as the best experience you could ever do with orangutans.

From the beginning of the booking process with Hannah until we were dropped back at our hotel after the tour, everything ran smoothly thanks to our wonderful crew which consisted of our guide, Nina and our brilliant cook Pii, whose food was absolutely delicious (lezat!) and our captain Nanda.

All of the crew looked after us so well and were very attentive to our needs and Nina’s thoughtful and knowledgeable approach and respect for the animals made our time on the trip an amazing experience.

When you are at the feeding platforms the opportunities for photos of the orangutans is brilliant and even some of the encounters away from the feeding areas is great as the orangutans will sometimes come so close.We highly recommend this tour with Wild Orangutan Tours as it was most definitely the highlight of our Borneo trip and is a must do for animal and nature lovers alike!”

Added to TripAdvisor by Indigo85, who visited in June 2013.

…………………………………………………………………..

Just wanted to thank you for organising a wonderful tour and to let you know how much we enjoyed our trip to Tanjung Puting with Wild Orangutan tours.

Our crew of Nina, our guide, Nanda our captain and Pii our cook were absolutely wonderful and we would recommend them to anyone doing this trip ( and we have told a number of friends and work colleagues about our boat tour and that it was the best thing about our trip to Borneo!)

Nina was quite knowledgeable for someone her age and very thoughtful and treated the animals with respect, certainly more so than some guides who let their clients too close to some orangutangs that we witnessed. She was also concerned for our safety and health and when I tripped and hurt my already previously sprained ankle she was concerned and asked Pii to massage my ankle when we returned to the boat which was very lovely of both of them!

Also, the food we had on the trip was more than plentiful & delicious or lezat! as we complimented Pii on often, honestly it was the best food we had during our trip to Borneo and that is no exaggeration, and to think he does it all in a small area is just amazing!

We had a great experience with the orangutans and took many photos and got some great shots especially of little Gita at Camp Leakey, she was amazing, just sitting there basically almost posing for photos!

We will definitely recommend your company to anyone thinking of going to Borneo which we have already suggested to a number of people and I will post comments on Tripadvisor as well. Our sincerest thanks once again for a wonderful trip of a lifetime!

Kind regards, T & C”

An email received after a tour in June 2013.

…………………………………………………

“Shannon and I would like to thank you and your company so much. We had THE BEST holiday possible and it was all down to your planning and execution. You made everything so easy for us and we can not thank you enough. If we could do it again we would not change a single thing. We have some of the most incredible memories. The Indonesians were the nicest people and the ability of the chef to make the quality of food she did while underneath the boat blew our minds. We haven’t got a complaint about a single part of the holiday.

Many of our friends have asked us about the vacation and we have told them and forwarded your email address so that they can hopefully set up their own tour. If there is anywhere you would like me to write a review or if there is anything we can do for your company we would be more than willing.

Thank you again.”

Feedback via email, June 2013, sent by Andy B.

………………………………………………………..

“Incredible Tour!

Having booked this tour via the internet, without any face-to-face time to iron out details of our tour, Wild Orangutan Tours were able to set up what has been one of the greatest vacations of my life.

My girlfriend and I flew from Jakarta to Pangkalan Buun and were greeted at the airport by our guide, Bain. The man was super friendly, willing to answer any and every question we posed to him and gave us incredible amounts of information regarding the orangutans and everything Borneo related. We experienced a 3 day/2 night tour and everything about the tour was amazing. We were able to not only take guided tours into the jungle to be around the orangutans and other such animals, we also had ample time to relax and take in the immense scenery. One standout part of the tour was the quality of the food that we ate everyday. The meals were cooked under the boat we sailed down the river on and the taste, smell and whole culinary experience was out of this world, especially considering it was made on a boat.

I can not emphasis enough how amazing this trip was and it is due to the planning, execution and the all out experience of the trip, provided by Hannah and her team at WOT. It was something that I will cherish for a long time.

Written on TripAdvisor, by Andy B, who travelled in June 2013.

……………………………………………………..

“Amazing experience with children!

We had a fantastic 3D/2N trip with Wild Orangutan Tours at the end of May 2013. As a female traveling alone with her 6YO son, I was somewhat nervous about our “adventure” to the wilds of Borneo, but Wild Orangutan Tours made the whole trip incredibly easy, and even relaxing!

Hannah in the UK provided excellent and responsive service with booking arrangements and was able to provide us with a female guide and non-smoking boat crew at our request. Hannah provides a good range of information on her website, including reading suggestions for adults and children. I really enjoyed reading Birute Galdikas’s biography, Reflections on Eden, as we travelled down the river- it gave a great insight into the establishment of Camp Leaky and the land and people of the area.

Our guide, Nina, was a pocket dynamo – very knowledgeable and enthusiastic! She really took our son under her wing, showing him a great range of wildlife on the river and in Tanjung Putung National National Park. In fact, the whole boat crew really made us welcome and kept our son entertained on the boat.

Our visits to Camp Leaky and the other feeding stations were wonderful. I was very surprised at the large number of orangutans we saw and the fact that we were able to get so close to them. After initial excitement, it was good to just put down the camera and appreciate being so close to these amazing animals. Be prepared that there can be large groups of people at the feeding stations (perhaps up to 50 people at some we went to), but we didn’t feel swamped and generally found some quiet moments with the orangutans after most people had left.

We took a number of treks out from the various feeding stations along the river, including a night trek which my son loved. Our Wild Orangutan Tour guide, Nina, accompanied us on all treks, together with local park staff, so we felt we were in safe hands at all times.

The food served on the boat was simple Indonesian fare, but tasty and plentiful. Sleeping on the top deck of the boat in the open air (well covered by a mosquito net) was good fun, but be prepared that it is “camping style”. We kept ourselves well-covered with mosquito repellant, and had no problem with mosquitos or leaches. Coming into the dry season, the nights can be coolish when there are clear skies, so take a light-weight cotton throw. A good book and some playing cards are also a good idea, as there are longer stretches of motoring on the river which provide a good opportunity to relax.

All in all, an excellent and easy trip with older children, giving them a rare opportunity to see endangered animals (outside of a zoo environment).

Written by Lisa M, on TripAdvisor, after travel in May 2013.

………………………………………………..

“Amazing!

From start to finish everything went smoothly. We went on a three day two night trip and had a fantastic time.

We’d booked a small boat for the two of us but found we’d been upgraded to a larger boat when we got there. We were glad we’d checked out the pictures of the boat before booking so were under no illusions over the facilities, however, although basic it was manageable and better than we expected.

We slept well at night on the deck under the mosquito nets and enjoyed waking up to the sounds of nature. On the first night there was a group of Proboscis monkeys in the trees above where we had moored up to sleep and the sounds they made were amazing.

The guide and three crew members were all very friendly and wanted to make our experience one we would remember. Special mention must go to the cook who managed to serve up the most delicious meals including vegetarians dishes, and also the young lad who seemed to be doing the most work.

We saw a lot more Orangutans than we expected to see – not only at the feeding stations but also on the walkways and, when we least expected it, strolling out of the jungle towards us – passing only a few feet away from where we were standing. We also saw lots making their way to the platforms by swinging through the trees above our heads. Just remember never to stand under a tree where an Orangutan is, otherwise you may get a drenching (or worse)!!!

We went in May and it wasn’t too busy with other boats, there was probably a maximum of twenty people at the feeding stations, so there was plenty of photo opportunities as well as plenty of time just to sit and observe. No one rushed us at all (not sure if that was because there wasn’t a lot of people there), but we had as much time as we wanted at each station.

Overall the weather was hot and sunny – but very humid, remember to take plenty of water with you when you leave the boat to go the feeding stations – you’ll definitely need it. We had a heavy rainstorm as we got to one of the camps before the feeding station but were fortunate enough to see a large Orangutan in a tree pulling the branches over his head to make an umbrella (of sorts).

We also saw some dolphins as we crossed the big river at the start of the tour and over the three days we saw several hornbills and kingfishes along the riverside. We were also lucky enough to see a Gibbon near one of the stations and we sailed passed lots of Proboscis monkeys. We also met Tom (the alpha male) at Camp Leaky.

We would like to thank everyone who had some part in our adventure and would certainly recommend booking with Wild Orangutan Tours – it was a holiday we’ll never forget and if you get the chance then don’t think twice about it – its amazing.”

Added to TripAdvisor by ajpatt, who visited in May 2013

……………………………………………………………

“Excellent!

Booked this tour in the uk prior to travelling to Bali. From Bali flew to Surabaya and then onto Pangalan Bun booking through Indonesia Website. Arrived at Pangkalan Bun late afternoon and then onto the hotel for the night, lack of electric due to storm meant early night but woke up fresh for the trip. Our giude Nina had arrived 1 hour early to ensure we left on time, this carried on throughout the whole trip, ensuring everything went as smoothly as possible. Really cared.

Taxi to the harbour and onto the Klotok and 3 days of bliss. Relaxation (beds not comfortable but thats not why your there!). Food really good, thanks to the chef. Captain and crewhand friendly, but with us didn’t have to stay below deck all the time.

Lack, of mobile signal, brilliant! Bed at 8, lots of bugs, brilliant! Huge bats, amazing! Wake up at 5 to the sound of the jungle, real!

Orangutans, extremely interesting and amazing to be with. Not gonna spoil anything else by saying any more. Me and my wife found this trip everything we wanted. Go for it you won’t regret it.

After the trip flew back to Surabaya and spent one night in the Majahit, expensive but great luxury after the jungle, bed soooo comfortable.Then back to Bali and the beach.”

Written by Richard F, on our TripAdvisor page, after he travelled in April 2013.

………………………………………………………

“A great tour”

I was planning a visit to Indonesia and really wanted to try to see orangutans in the wild. I weighed my options carefully and ended up booking a trip through Wild Orangutan Tours. As a solo traveller I was hoping to find another person to join me and made that known to the WOT organizers. As luck would have it they received a message from someone in my same situation and put us in touch – in the end we shared the tour.

My companion and I were met at the airport by our guide. We were whisked out of Pangkalan Buun and drove a short way to Kumai where we met the boat captain, skipper and our amazing cook! The six of us set off with little delay. Within an hour or two we had already spotted our first wild orangutan. It was a magical moment and a sign of things to come!

We were on the river for four days and every day we saw both wild and rehabilitated orangutans both in the jungle and at the feeding stations. In addition to that we saw lots of Macaques, Proboscis Monkeys, Crocodiles, a Water Monitor and we got a glimpse of two very shy gibbons. We also saw lots of birds: King Fishers, Eagles, Flying Foxes (not birds, I know) etc. The jungle was teeming with wildlife and I feel so grateful to have had the opportunity to visit and observe. There was one visit to a feeding station where we were able to observe both wild and rehabilitated males in the same area – amazing! We visited Camp Leakey and were able to be quite close to the primates there under the watchful eye of our guide, of course.

The klotok (houseboat) was small but comfortable, we had places to rest for an afternoon nap, shade at almost all times of the day, a dinner table with chairs and a bug net and thin mattress for sleeping at night. Every meal we had several dishes to choose from – always two protein sources (one vegetarian and one meat) to choose from, rice, vegetables and fruit. All the food was delicious. I can’t remember one thing that I didn’t enjoy. There were also snacks after we’d trek to see the orangutans and coffee/tea in the afternoon.

Definitely take bug spray and/or some sort of bug protection as well as a good book for quiet nights on the river. I brought hiking boots but ended up wearing my sandals for most of our jungle visits. Oh and a rain poncho is a must – a poncho is better than a rain jacket because a poncho will keep your day pack dry if you get caught in the rain.

In the end when it was all said and done I’m so happy I went. The jungle can present challenges (heat, bugs etc) but with the proper attitude they are all minor when compared to the amazing experiences you’ll have in the jungle.”

Review posted on the Wild Orangutan Tours TripAdvisor page, by Samantha, who travelled in April 2013.

……………………………………………………..

“Tanjung Puting national park, Borneo/Kalimantan Indonesien – ett äventyr!

På familjens ”upptäcksresa” genom Indonesien blev den största upplevelsen Tanjung Puting Nationalpark på den Indonesiska delen av Borneo. Här finns en av de få kvarvarande platser där orangutangerna kan leva ett relativt skyddat liv, även om plantager med palmoljepalmer och illegal skogsavverkning och gruvbrytning även finns här och bidrar till brist på mat för djuren och att de skyddade miljöerna krymper.

Vi hyrde två små primitiva ”klotok boats” med guide och besättning och tog oss uppför Sekonyer River.
Enligt vår kontakt i UK så skulle vi få se många orangutanger och även andra apor. Reklam brukar alltid ju alltid överdriva, men inte i det här fallet blev vi mycket positivt överraskade.

Redan första dagen såg vi massor av näsapor (proboscis monkey), makaker och några orangutanger i träden efter stränderna då vi färdades uppför den smala floden. Efter stränderna såg vi även ett par krokodiler och en varan.

När mörkret föll på nätterna så vaknade djungeln.
Vi sov på däck under moskitnät. Det var lite svårt att sova med alla spelande cikador, konstiga ljud och skrik och inte minst apor som slogs om sovplatser i träden efter floden, och som ibland slutade med att någon ramlade ner med ett brak. Men det var inte störande utan bara spännande och man låg gärna vaken och lyssnade!

Vi gick iland på flera platser och fick tillfälle att se många orangutanger, en del på mycket nära håll. På platser där man hade stödutfodring för orangutanger fick vi i bland flytta på oss så vi inte hamnade i vägen för orangutangerna som inte lät oss störa deras familjeliv och revir övervakning. Det finns så mycket spännande att berätta att det skulle räcka till en hel bok, men vi nöjer oss med denna beskrivning.

Hans Forsslund med familj och vänner
Stockholm, Sweden”

Written by the Forsslund family (on TripAdvisor), who travelled in November 2012

…………………………………………………………….

“Just wanted to tell you that I had an amazing time on the tour. Zulham ended up being my guide, he is a really sweet nice guy, the captain was also great, the food was really good and of course the orangutans were absolutely amazing, had such a great experience, will definately recommend you to friends. Thanks so much!”

Written by Karen V, who travelled in October 2012

……………………………………………………….

I would just like to thank yourself and everyone at Wild Orangutan Tours for the wonderful time we spent on tour with Wild Orangutan Tours.  Our guide Zulham could not have been more helpful and attentive to our requests.  Zulham was very informative and friendly and it was a real pleasure having him as our guide and spending time with him.

We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Camp Leakey and learning about the orangutans and the studies that have taken place there. I love the fact that this is not high density touring and that the majority of boats only had two tourists or one family on board, lessening the impact of visitors to the area.

Mark and I would highly recommend Wild Orangutan Tours. From boooking through to the end of the tour, the service from Wild Orangutan Tours has been impeccable.

Thanks again. Dealing with Wild Orangutan Tours has been a very pleasant experience and one we will remember for life!”

Written by Jo and Mark, who travelled in October 2012.

…………………………………………………………

“We all thank you for making such a wonderful trip happen! We had a marvelous time and crew!

I and my wife thank you extra for providing us with a FEMALE guide, as well as to her a work opportunity. I don’t know who choose her (Nina Yanti), if you or Pak Sabrie, but in any case it was a perfect choice. She is knowledgeable, searches thoroughly to understand exactly and respond precisely to our questions. Nina gave always her best and did not stop thinking of my questions after her answers. The girls were also extremely at ease with her and we could see another side of the story of young women workers as her in Indonesia, specially in Kalimantan.

The captain, Yopi, his “asisten”, Mr. Happy, Anang and the cook, Ibu Zuleica (I could not spell out her name correctly) where all just perfect in their duties and went further, much further.

Thank you again! We are still in awe and “digesting” the experience!”

Written by Mauricio B, who visited in October 2012, with his 11yr old and 5 yr old.

……………………………………………………

“This will be the trip you talk about at your next cocktail party. Hands down, it was one of our most memorable. We booked a 3 day/2night klotok “cruise” with Wild Orangutan Tours (kudos to Hannah for excellent, responsive service). The entire experience was like no other.

The boat is right out of “The African Queen” with cramped quarters, peeling paint and creative repairs. The bathroom facilities are rough; plan on suspending your Western standards. But the klotok fits right into the surreal surroundings as it steadfastly chug-chugs along the quintessential jungle river. No I/O motor sounds ruin this experience. Sleeping on the decks was stiffening, but worth it to awake to sunrise on the misty river and the jungle sounds you’ve only heard in Disney movies. The crew lives in the deck below and somehow the cook manages to crouch all day in a steamy 3-ft high space and create DELICIOUS meals. Once again though, try not to think too much about Western sanitation. Things are different on the klotok.

Two things to think about: heat and DEET. The temps and humidity are oppressive. Be prepared to sweat continuously for three days, made more delightful by the greasy DEET that you need to spray on at all times. If you want wash off occasionally using a bucket shower with questionable river water, go for it. Otherwise, expect to tax the bathroom facilities at your first hotel room.

That said, you’ll hopefully be distracted by the remarkable wildlife viewing along the river, including crocs, birds and troops of Probiscus monkeys doing cirque du soleil acts right alongside your boat. And then there are the Orangutans, both the wild ones (if you’re lucky enough to see them riverside, as we were) and those in the sanctuaries. They are bursting with personality and remarkable to watch. You just can’t have an experience like this anywhere else.

We wanted to adopt our guide, Mawardi, who was knowledgeable, fun and sincerely interested in sharing his country and learning about ours. He added another dimension to the trip as we sat up evenings, talked about our different lives and pondered his questions, such as “Why do Westerners read so many books?”

All in all, this trip is a one-in-a-lifetime experience. Be prepared, but do it.
(Sidebar: Flights to Pangkalanbun are hard to arrange. The third party booking agent that usually handles the flight reservations for all the tour operators was offline due to banking problems so we had to do it on our own. Start early and remember that there are only two airlines and limited flights. Expect some comical moments, like trying to find Trigana Air’s offices in town in order to pay them with reams of cash.)”

Anonymous review, added to Trip Advisor in September 2012

……………………………………………………..

“We have just returned from a 4 day trip on a klotok to the Tanjung Puting National Park which was fantastically well-organised by Wild Orangutan Tours. Our guide Sabrie was hugely knowledgeable and ensured we got up-close encounters with the orangutans as well as all the other wildlife in the park – proboscis monlys, macaques, crococdiles, monitor lizards, all varieties of birds and huge butterflies.

The klotok was clean and despite being basic was very comfortable – fantastic for lying on deck and listening to the sounds of the night jungle. The crew went out of their way to ensure we had a great time and the food was excellent.

The tour was exceptional value-for-money (especially compared to some other enquiries we made) – we’d have happily paid many times this for these unforgettable experiences. Hannah at wildorangutantours.com was very very helpful in answering all our pre-trip questions, assisting with travel arrangements and setting up a great itinerary.

Would recommend this trip to anyone who loves the true natural world.”

Anonymous review on TripAdvisor, September 2012.

………………………………………………..

“I’ve been meaning to e-mail you to say we had the best time on our tour! Everything was amazing – crew, food, boat and of course we adored our guide, Sabrie (your brother-in-law!) We were really sad to leave, which never usually happens on a holiday! So thank you for everything!”

Written by Olivia, who travelled in August 2012

…………………………………………………..

“We recently returned from a 4 day klotok trip of Tanjung Puting NP. It was wonderful to visit the jungle in Borneo and to be chugging along in our klotok engrossed in the sights and sounds about us. Proboscis monkeys were plentiful on the first day but a little more elusive after that although we did see gibbons, long tailed macaques, heaps of butterflies and birds and we were lucky enough to even see a “wild” orangutan (as opposed to those that have been rehabilitated).

At and around the feeding stations, we were delighted to see so many orangutans, marvelling at their agility as they swung through the trees. It was also incredible to watch as some these beautiful creatures wandered towards us on the board walk when we arrived and then just casually walked by – barely giving us a second glance. Seeing the orangutans was extraordinary – to be able to simply observe their behaviour in their natural habitat is something we will never forget.

At night we slept at Rimba Lodge in a Diamond Room which was very nice – we did enjoy sleeping in air conditioned comfort there, I must admit. Each morning after breakfast at the lodge we boarded our klotok and set off for a day on the river. Yes, you do need to remember to bring a good DEET repellent but if you’re wearing long sleeved shirts and trousers its not too much of a problem on those small areas that are exposed. It seemed to be a problem for people wearing clothing such as singlet tops and shorts! Also, wear sensible walking shoes for a number of reasons, not the least being the possibility of leeches. In places there is uneven ground/tree roots etc. to walk over so don’t wear high heeled sandals (that I noticed on some tourists) it really is inappropriate footwear for the jungle.

Our guide was very informative, spoke English well and had worked in the NP for a number of years. All the crew on the Klotok were friendly and the meals were delicious – always several dishes to choose from.

We booked through Wild Orangutan Tours in Wales and I would thoroughly recommend them. Hannah was amazing from start to finish. She initially answered each and every question that I had and any queries along the way which I sent by email always received a prompt response. Hannah is very thorough and very dedicated and I cannot speak highly enough of her. She is extremely professional and an absolute delight to deal with.

I actually booked our flights to Pangkalanbun flying Trigana Air over the internet through Ticket Indonesia. Couldn’t book it earlier than a month before but had no problems at all with tickets or flights.

This may be the last chance to see orangutans in the jungle in Borneo because in years to come, tragically, they may not be there. So if you want to go, don’t delay it for too long.”

Written by Barb A. on TripAdvisor. Visited July 2012

…………………………………………………………………..

“The short itinerary we had – one night on klotok then drop off at Pangkalan Bun for second night at hotel was perfect for us. We saw what we wanted without feeling too rushed and were able to shower and sleep in an air conditioned room to be presentable for our flights the next day. We had a great trip and were very happy with the ability to have the itinerary tailored to our requirements and interests.”

Anonymous review written by guests who travelled in July 2012.

…………………………………………………….

“Just wanted to say thanks for organising our klotok trip at Tanjung Puting NP which was fantastic. Also wanted to say a big thanks to Mr Sabrie. Despite the big hassles we had with flights getting to and from Kalimantan, it was all worth it. Our klotok crew and guide were great and my sons loved the trip.”

Written by Ann H, who travelled with her 12 and 13 year old sons in June, 2012.

………………………………………………..

“We booked a three night trip to Tanjung Puting. We where met at the airport and taken to the harbour where we boarded our Klotok, we had a standard Klotok booked through Wild Orangutan Tours. There where 4 crew onboard which did a great job of looking after us, we had a guide, cook, captain and assistant.
The park is absolutly amazing, sitting on the boat watching the river banks pass us is extremly relaxing. There are several feeding platforms, the first one had soo many mosquitos it slightly spoiled our enjoyment – they where every where, and even the Deet we covered ourselves in didnt seem to put them off. The other platforms where much better.
Camp Leakey was our favourite, as it has a very cheeky Gibbon at the peir greeting everyone. The close up encounters that you have are amazing, there are many orangs at all the feeding platforms.
Cruising along the river we saw numerous Proboscis monkeys, and one night we saw hundreds of fireflys which was magical.

We visited the village, sometimes Im a bit wary about these type of things. But we found it very humbling and interesting to see where our guide went to school, to see how the locals live and overall understand life on the rivers edge. We visited the village sourvenour ship before our visit, and wished it had been afterwards as we would have bought more to support them.

I would absolutly recommened visitng the Tanjung Puting, and I would love to go back. Next time I will carefully think about how I visit. We enjoyed the boat trip, but we found it hard work – it was extremly hot at all times with no way of cooling down, there where a lot of mosquitos and insects at night which made eating dinner interesting, and we had no shower for our three night stay, There is lack of privacy so you have to try and get changed in the small toilet cubicle or under the bed sheets! I would recommened you do a Klotok trip at least once, to experience it, sleeping on deck and listenign to the night sounds, and waking up with sunrise is lovely. But you just need to be prepared for some basic living.

Wild Orangutan Tours was great and I would recommend them !”

Written on TripAdvisor, by an anonymous guest, June 2012.

………………………………………………………

“We just came back to Denmark after a wonderful vacation to Borneo. There is no doubt in our mindst that the 5 day trip with you was definatly one of the most memorable experiences, not only on this trip, but in our lives. Everything was so exceptionally well planned and effective. When travelling in developing countries on a limited time, it is also a concern that things go slowly, gets poorly planned and ineffective. However the tour with you was so effective. Our fantastic guide, Bain, was ready for us in the airport and about an hour later we were already sailing on the river on a beautiful boat which had already been prepared, fuelled, equipped and staffed. No time was wasted waiting for preperations and permits and already on the first day we went to camp 1 to see our first orangutan feeding. The following four days the staff was so accomodating and they catered for all our needs, allowing us time for ourself when we wanted to quietly enjoy the scenery, but also provided wonderful entertainment and information when this was needed. Constant snacks and drinks and the most amazing food ever prepared on a boat:) ensured an experience of a lifetime. I would not hesitate á second in referring friends and family to join a tour with Wild Orangutan Tours, and not only do i see it as an option, but rather as a must when visiting Borneo.

Best regards and thank you so much for this experience and thanks to Bain and the rest of the staff”

Written by Mads and Nadia, who visited in May 2012.

……………………………………………………………………..

“I wanted to let you know what a great time we had on our trip with your company. It was the highlight of our honeymoon.  Bain was a fantastic guide.  He had respect for the animals and you could tell that he had earned the respect of the other boats/guides.  The staff on our boat always anticipated our needs.  The boat was also in great condition.  Amber celebrated her 29th bday on the last night of our trip.  they had a cake taken up river from town and also gave us each statues that we will cherish.  a very special evening for us.  Keep up the great work and please let us know if there is anything we can do in terms of recommending this to other travelers.”

Written by Kris and Amber who travelled in May 2012.

…………………………………………………………………….

“Food was amazing, we requested vegan and the cook prepared excellent food for us the entire time. Sabrie was a fantastic guide! The tour was one of the highlights from our 3 month south east Asia trip. Getting to see the Orangutans up close and personal was a magical experience that we will never forget. Sleeping on the boat in the jungle was amazing and the food was incredibly delicious, they did a great job catering to our vegan diet as well. Thank you for a once in a lifetime experience we will never forget!”

Anonymous review from guests who travelled in May 2012.

………………………………………………..

“This was an amazing trip, especially for our children. The guides and boat crew took really good care of us, especially the children, I would recommend this trip to any familly, we went with three boys age 4, 6 and 8, and grand parents, and everybody had a fantastic time. Thanks!”

Anonymous review from guests who travelled in May 2012.

………………………………………………………

“Fardi was the best part of the trip, other than the orangutan. He is knowledgable and has a clear love for his work. Very good Asset for WOT.”

Anonymous review written by guests who travelled in May 2012, with Mr Fardi.

………………………………………………………..

“It was an amazing experience and the crew on the boat was really good. Camp Leakey was the best part!”

Anonymous review written by guests who travelled in April 2012, with Mr Ba’in.

……………………………………………………………..

“Ever since seeing the documentary “Born to be Wild” which featured Dr. Galdikas and her lifetime’s work with the orangutan’s at Camp Leakey, we have wanted to visit this amazing park. Wild Orangutan tours is very well organized and took care of everything. Our guide, Sabrie, was always helpful and pleasant to be with. Our klotok or riverboat was very basic – more like the African Queen than a cruise ship but it was all ours (4 family members) so we felt very David Livingson-ish as we perched on our top deck on loungers and a hammock watching the wildlife go by. There is a flush toilet on board but no running water. The meals were authentic Indonesian and very good. Mattresses are laid out at night with mosquito nets. But the highlight of course was seeing the Orangutans, and lots of them very close-up. In fact, at Camp Leakey, we were met at the wharf by Tom, an enormous male who sauntered down to the shore and took a bath in front of us all. He was tossed a small chunk of soap and proceeded to suds up, a skill he learned as a rescued orphan, although he seemed more interested in eating the suds than in getting clean. Further up the trail we were entertained by a troop of macaques fighting over some food and running all over the camp and a gibbon with impossibly long arms swinging around the camps rooftops trying to see if there was anything for him. Even further along, at the feeding station, we were very lucky to see 4 or 5 females with babies clinging to them and various toddlers running amok. There were all quite undisturbed by our presence and munched on bananas, swung from trees and talked to each other as we watched. Even back on the boat we were able to spot many probiscus monkeys and the occasional gibbon. Overall a really amazing experience!”

Written by Linda who travelled with her family in February 2012 (from TripAdvisor)
See their slideshow of their tour on Flickr: Photos of Borneo Tour
………………………………………………………………………

“The tour has been fantastic as has be Sabrie. He is very knowledge/kind and has been a fantastic tour guide. He has looked after us so well . I never imagined that we would be so close to the orangatans its amazing. The other staff have been excellent too. Food has been incredible and the boat is very comfortable! Credit to you also as you have put together a superb itinerary. I will certainly recommend to all my friends and work colleagues. Thank you so much.”

Written by Carolyn and Mike, who travelled in February 2012.

…………………………………………………..

“A really unique and fun experience traveling / living on a boat! The food was excellent and plentiful. Sabrie was just fantastic – very knowledgeable, open to our questions and a very lovely person. One of the best family holidays we have ever taken – memorable and amazing. Thank you for an amazing, memorable and fun family holiday! Sabrie is a fantastic guide, living on the klotok was so much fun and seeing the orangutan up close was unforgettable.”

Anonymous feedback, written by guests who visited in February 2012

…………………………………………………………..

“We travelled the 2 of us on a klotok, together with the guide, cook and klotok crew. To stay 3 days inside the national park, with all its sounds, flora and fauna was incredible. As you travel up the sekonyer river you see all type of birds, long tail monkeys jumping from tree to tree, all while your enjoying a nice cup of coffee and chatting away with the guide, who patiently explains everything about the park. We were very lucky, saw a lot of orangutans, in the wild and on the feeding stations. The feeding stations are good as its probably the only place where you can see the big males. We saw Doyok and Ponorogo, they are impressive!! We were also very lucky as Unyuk brought her just 2 days old baby to the feeding station at camp Leakey, unforgettable. We arranged a last minute 3 day klotok tours with wildorangutantours. All was arranged perfectly, great guides, wonderfull food, relaxing atmosphere. We have travelled a lot and certainly are encouraging everyone to visit this magic place!”

Written by Mar and Fede, who travelled in October. (On Trip Advisor)

………………………………………………………….

“We had a really great time, it was just wonderful. Sabrie was very nice and very knowlegeable about the forest and everything we liked to know, and he also took his younger brother on the tour, what was a real pleasure for our kids, as he took care of them a lot and helped carrying them etc. Also the boat crew was very nice. The food was excellent, also our kids always found something they liked. And we had a shower on the boat as well as it would have been possible to charge the batteries if necessary. Fortunately we did not have any problems with mosquitos, it was still very dry and we used lots of repellents, and so we didn´t have a single bite. So thank you so much for that tour, it was just perfect. And I really appreciate that you were answering all my questions in advance, so I had a good feeling going on this trip. so thanks again for this wonderful trip!”

Written by Franziska, who travelled in October 2011

…………………………………………………..

“We had an absolutely great and amazing tour, friendly crew and Bi’an is amazing, knowing a lot about the orangutans and spending a lot of time with us explaining. We had a wonderful time, and I’m already thinking of what we can do from home to help out a bit with protecting the Tanjun Puting area. I’ll certainly promote you  and Mr Ba’in wherever I can, thanks again for your useful and friendly help! “

Written by Mar, who travelled in October 2011

…………………………………………………..

“Hello! We arrived in our hôtel in pangkalanbun thanks to Daisy. We had a wonderful time on the boat with the crew, the funny captain and the marvellous cook. Sleeping in the jungle at night was an amazing experience, and we saw many many orangutans.

Thank you again for this perfect trip!!”

Written by Agathe & alexis, who travelled in October 2011

…………………………………………………………

“What a wonderful time we had, cruising on our klotok for 4 days in the park. Our guide Sabrie was the nicest guy and he was so knowledgable about the orang-outangs in the park, their names, behaviours, etc. We really appreciated the whole organisation of our trip with Wild Orang Utan Tours, from booking to closure and everybody was so nice and easy-going and Hannah was a charm to deal with through emails. Everything was done to make us as comfortable as possible. We saw a ton of orang-outangs (even outside the feeding stations) and it is amazing to see them in their natural habitat. The park is doing such a great job at keeping the majority as wild as possible and to have as less impact as possible on their environment, even with tourists visiting. A true ecotourism initiative. On our way back to the airport at the end of our trip, Sabrie even invited us to his lovely home where we met his family and we also stopped at a great little local initiative to teach children how to be green and preserve nature and the orang-outangs. We had a blast. If you love nature and going back to a simpler meaningful life and If you have the chance, GO!”

Written by MHAC on Trip Advisor, who travelled in September 2011.

…………………………………………………………………………..

“We are all safe and sound and back in busy Jkt, back in the office :( We had a wonderful time with your team and on the boat!! Everything worked smoothly, the trip was well-organized as expected and we are taking so many nice memories from this trip back home…thank you so much Hannah for making this possible!

We were very happy with your team and our guide Pak Sabrie. He was a good guide, well-informed about nature and wildlife, it was very informative to listen to him. The rest of the staff was very nice too, we had great food and everyone was concerned to offer us the best service and to accommodate our requests.”

Written by Catharina, who travelled in September 2011

…………………………………………………………….

“It really was a fantastic journey!”

Written by Alice and Horst, who travelled in September 2011

…………………………………………………..

“We want to say thank you as we had such a wonderful time on our tour!  Sabrie and the team on the boat was amazing and we were so lucky with our sightings of orang-outangs.  We had plenty of opportunities to observe and marvel at the fascinating creatures.  A fantastic and authentic experience.”

Written by Marie and Adam, who travelled in September 2011

…………………………………………………..

“We went to Tanjung Puting Park this past Sept 13 – 15 on a kloktok with Sabrie as our guide. The trip was absolutely great, much credit due to Sabrie. And Niaha’s cooking was delicious; adding the circumstances of a klektok made it a marvel. Sabrie’s first-hand knowledge of the orangutans from his years of working in the park added a depth to our experience which was invaluable. After the klotok trip Sabrie took us through the market and then to his home where we met and had tea with his family and saw their photos. They made it a warm and welcoming occasion for us. What a lovely way to end the trip. Thank you for such a great program.”

Written by Peter, who travelled in September 2011

…………………………………………………………….

We had a perfectly amazing time! The staff were wonderful – great food and awesome service! Sabrie was so helpful – we could not have had a better guide!  We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Kumai as well.”

Written by Linda, travelled in September 2011

……………………………………………………………..

” I just wanted to send you a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our trip to Tanjung Puting and how well-organised and freindly everything was. Our guide Desy was absolutely brilliant and great company. She was professional but friendly, with a fabulous knowledge of the animals and the area and genuinely enthusiastic. How on earth the cook made such delicious food in such a small kitchen is beyond me. You have a great business and your staff are a credit to you.  It was an experience I will never forget.”

Written by Simon T, who travelled in September 2011

Simon also wrote a review on TripAdvisor:

‘Our trip to Borneo was a bit of a last minute decision but was the highlight of our Indonesian holiday. We booked with Wild Orangutan Tours who I cannot recommend highly enough. It was so well-organised by Sabrun and Hannah in the UK and our local guide Desy was absolutely brilliant and wonderful company. She was professional but friendly, with a fabulous knowledge of the animals and the area and genuinely enthusiastic. How on earth the cook made such delicious food in such a small kitchen is beyond me and although the boat is basic, it has everything you need (if you want 5star luxury, go elsewhere and have a dull holiday by the pool with everyone else). The opportunity to interact with wildlife so closely is incredible and it a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle. We saw crocodiles, monitors, gibbons, boar, tree shrews, squirrels of various types, lots of monkeys, dozens of beautiful orangutans and fantastc birdlife. To wake to the sound of the jungle is wonderful and the whole trip was an experience I will never forgett.’

…………………………………………………….

“Sabrie was a wonderful host, and I had a great time. He went beyond my expectations in trying to coordinate what I needed for my magazine article and was endlessly patient when my interviews with Dr. Galdikas ran long. Thanks again!”

Written by Erin from Canada, July 2011

………………………………………………………….

” Took a tour with wild orangutan tours – to TanjungPuting park in Kalimantan. 3 of us did a last minute 3d 2n tour with them and we basically booked it over the net. Due to being the high season we didn’t want to take any chances of there not being any available tours there when we arrived as we were on an extremely tight schedule. The tour was fantastic – it was great chilling out on the klotok going up river and seeing all the wildlife along the way. The park itself was also great with a lot of orangutans – even some large males who came down to feed. The best part of the tour though was hanging out on the boat with a great guide and the crew – they really made the trip a success. Sabrie our guide was great, a laid back guy, very experienced ( he worked in the park itself for many years as a ranger and helping out with research projects), funny and knowledgeable. our cook Ana was amazing – she made some great meals, the tempe goreng was especially delicious and we all spent some time down below in the kitchen learning some of her skills. The other two guys on the boat were also great Anang and of course El Capitan. all in all a great trip and highly recommended – way better than the park in Sumatra!”

Written by ‘GuruB’, on TripAdvisor. Visited July 2011

………………………………………………………………………………………….

“Wild Orangutan tours were fantastic! My boyfriend and i thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Everything went so smoothly from getting in touch with Hanna for info, until we said goodbye to Mr Sabrie (our guide) at the end of our trip.

The Klotok was brilliant and the food cooked for us was so delicious! It was just myself and my boyfriend and we felt like we were looked after so well by the friendly crew on board. Mr Sabrie was keen to share his knowledge about the surrounding nature and wildlife. Sleeping on board the klotok was magical! We slept very comfortably, under a mosquito net on the top deck, and fell asleep to the sounds of the surrounding rainforest!! Seeing the orangutans was such an awesome experience, especially when we spotted a baby hanging in the trees as we travelled along the river! We can’t thank wild orangutan tours enough for making our trip so memorable, the highlight of our trip!! THANKYOU!!!! x”

Written by kitkatandjonboy on Trip Advisor, 16th July 2011

……………………………………………………………………

“I counted about a dozen Proboscis monkeys in one tree alone! Rudi was a great guide for us. We got to see three male orangutans, and Dojo and Pia had a memorable encounter as Pia was on a path near a feeding place by herself looking at flora and Dojo showed up! All was good though :) LOTS of female orangutans with their babies too. We also saw a gibbon up close and personal at Leakey Park, and we spotted crocodiles, a snake, an owl, stick insects, termites, lizards, etcetcetc… We gad a great time, thank you, kiitos in Finnish!”

Written by Samu, 26th July 2011, on our Facebook page.

………………………………………………………………………..

“Thanks for everything it was more than amazing. Rudi our guide was more than a great guide and also was the crew. We saw a lot of monkeys (all kind…) and beautifull birds… It was ‘like we say in Belgium’ bangelijk. Thanks”

Written by Wout, 22nd July 2011, on our Facebook page.

…………………………………………………………………………

Hi Hannah, We are home, and wanted to let you know that we had an amazing time on our klopok with our lovely crew!

The orangutans were all and more than we expected. We saw so many every time we ventured into the forest and happily spent many hours gazing at them. We saw lots of babies with their funny antics and patient mothers and the dominant males are always happy to give a show! The kids were very pleased to meet Princess, my husband recalled seeing the National Geographic image, from the 70′s, of her and the babe in a wash bucket. She is now a wise and gentle old lady.

The 4 days and 3 nights were so relaxing and wonderful. A great opportunity to reconnect as a family and with nature in this busy world we live in.

Compliments to your staff – our crew (Ancis, Andreas, Shaffey and Sandie) were highly skilled, friendly and engaging and made our trip really special. The kids really struck up a rapport with them and we all thoroughly enjoyed sharing their boat and their river with them.

Thank you for all your help and ready replies to my endless pre-trip questions. We will highly recommend your company to friends and family.

Thank you for arranging such a memorable trip. Kind regards”

Written by the Esmonde family, July 18th 2011

…………………………………………………………………………………

“After living in Jakarta/Indonesia for 1 year, I realized that travelling to Tanjung Puting National Park and seeing orangutans in their natural habitat are a must thing to do! After a little research on the Internet and a few e-mails, we (me and my husband) decided that Wild Orangutangs Tour had the best price and offers the best and the most flexible package! Before starting our trip, I sent a lot of e-mails to them with thousand of questions that I had, and they gave me all the information I needed. So, when we got there, there were no surprises.

We booked a two-night-package with them and a one-night-package at the Rimba Lodge by ourselves. I have to say that the Rimba Lodge is not spetacular as expected and it is only worthy staying there if you’re not willing to enjoy a greater adventure!

The klotok experience was amazing! It was confortable, relaxing, the food was very tasty (we are vegetarians and they offered us a special menu) and the crew (4 people!) was very friendly and helpful!

We were able to see a lot of Orangutans (and a friendly one grabbed my husband’s hand!), proboscis monkeys and even a crocodile! Of course, everything was very safe!

We recommend this experience to everyone! If you are in Indonesia, don’t miss it!”

Written by Elizabete, May 2011 (On Trip Advisor)

………………………………….

“Just wanted to say a huge thankyou for our fantastic trip to see the Orangutans!!

Thankyou for being so organised and ensuring everything was sorted and ready for us.

Mr Sabrie was a marvellous guide and host, we really enjoyed his company and meeting his lovely family, we were sad to say goodbye!

We are so grateful to Wild Orangutan tours for making our once in a lifetime trip absolutely brilliant.

Thankyou!!!!”

Written by Katie and Jon, June 2011

…………………………………

“J’ai booké à la derniere minute mon tour 3 jours et 2 nuits avec l’agence “wild orangutans tour” suite à un commentaire sur ce site et je n’ai pas regretté une seule seconde. tout était bien : le klotok, les repas, le guide, et bien sur la jungle et les orangs outans

je ne peux que recommander à tous d’aller voir ce site”

Stephanie, May 2011 (On Trip advisor)

Comments are closed.